More testing….really?

I really thought we were onto something.
Bribery, or as I like to call it… an incentive scheme.
It worked the previous night so why shouldn’t it work again?
Well, that was the theory.
Isn’t it a shame that children aren’t like in a text book?
Have a theory, put it into practice, wave your magic wand and hey presto, problem solved.

In this case, we told “Blake” about the incentive for going to sleep straight away, well before bedtime. Lunch at his favourite takeaway place and time to play in the playground. He was excited, so I foolishly thought we were in for an easy night.

Ba-dummm. Wrong answer.

An hour. Yes, an hour of howling. If it wasn’t so annoying it would be hilariously funny. He howls for a few minutes, stops, listens for our reaction, then starts again.
We checked to make sure he wasn’t in distress, that the little fella was actually ok, and he seemed to be. No actual tears, no runny nose, no red puffy eyes, no blotchy face and when asked, he couldn’t tell us what was wrong.

In 18 months of caring, we have only had 2 other criers, and both had reasons we could understand and help them with. This one is a mystery.

We even tried chatting to him the next day when things were back to normal again.
Maybe we were missing a step in his normal bedtime routine.
Had a last drink and loo trip … check
Bed time story … check
Night light on … check

It is indeed a mystery.

Anyone with any thoughts would be most welcome. Many heads make for less howling right?

2 thoughts on “More testing….really?

  1. Maybe it’s unknown history? I also know that bedtime can be rough period. Does he have a special toy that may calm him?
    I don’t know how long he’s been in your care but when Stinky Fairy first came she would NOT sleep alone. I WISH it would only been one hour of howling lol. It was just me and her so I put her in my bed and she would calm down and eventually sleep. I told my agent and caseworker! I had to get sleep. She went into a play pen by my bed and then transitioned to her room. I hope any of this is helpful, lady. Good luck!

    • All thoughts are helpful, thank you.
      “Blake” comes to us for respite, once weekend a month.
      I’ll ask his carer if he normally has a toy, or if there’s another step in his routine that we’re missing.
      An hour isn’t a lot, it could be a whole lot worse, but it’s a massive shock to our system, and it can’t be nice for him.
      We have a couple of weeks to get a new plan in place to try out.

Leave a Reply

