I couldn’t do that

For all the people (both friends and strangers) who have ever told me “I couldn’t do that, I’d get too attached”
I’m not sure quite what you mean.
I don’t know if you mean I’m a cold hearted ogre that doesn’t cry EVERY. SINGLE. TIME. a child leaves our home.
I don’t know if you mean I have a super inner strength to cry my eyes out and then say yes to another child and know that I’m going to go through it all again.
I don’t know quite what you mean.
But what I can tell you is I do get attached.

I owe it to these precious children that come into our home to get attached and love them like they are my own because someone has to and ok, it’s not easy knowing I’m in for more tears, but, the day I don’t care enough to get attached, is the day I have to give fostering away.
These children need to be cared for and loved.
We’re not super strong, cold hearted or amazing.
We’re just giving some precious little people what they need when they need it most.

3 thoughts on “I couldn’t do that

  1. I think that many people mean they couldn’t be that selfless. They’re wrong, in most cases, but you embrace selflessness in a way soooo many people just…can’t. Or won’t. I read your blog when I feel hopeless over the parenting of my own disabled child, and also when remembering how no one loved me as a child myself. I dreamed of a caregiver like you.

    I think they just mean that you do amazingly good work out there, for those who need it most. Just my opinion. šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

